Canadian waters without need to prove fault or negligence; this liability covers cost of remedial action if authorized by the Governor-in-Council, preventive action by the minister of transport and damages suffered by any person. Proceedings are taken against the shipowner and served on the administrator of the fund to make him a party to the litigation; upon failure to recover from the shipowner, the administrator is to the claimant in the position of a guarantor or unsatisfied judgment fund. If the ship cannot be identified, suit may be taken against the administrator by fishermen suffering a loss of revenue resulting from an oil discharge attributable to a ship and not otherwise recoverable at law. The administrator reports annually to Parliament through the minister of transport.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president and 21 other members. The primary aim of the council is to support and develop research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the minister of national health and welfare.

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board. The board was established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11, as amended) and reports to the minister of labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor-in-Council. The board adjudicates claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to worker compensation under any provincial worker compensation act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

National Advisory Council on Aging (Department of National Health and Welfare). Established by a federal order-in-council in May 1980, the 18-member council is charged with assisting and counselling the minister of health and welfare on matters relating to the quality of life of Canada's aging population. In addition to advising on programs and policies, the council reviews needs and problems of older people and recommends remedial action; it consults with institutions and groups involved in aging or representing the aged, publishes reports, helps in information dissemination, and stimulates public discussion on aging.

National Advisory Council on Fitness and Amateur Sport (Department of National Health and Welfare). The council was established in 1962 by the Fitness and Amateur Sport Act (RSC 1970, c.F-25) to advise the minister responsible on matters relating to fitness and amateur sport. The council is an autonomous organization, composed of 30 members appointed by the Governor-in-Council, who represent every Canadian province and territory. Its committees meet periodically to discuss and examine matters related to their areas of concern. At least twice a year, a general council meeting is held and recommendations to the minister are formulated. Through numerous programs and operations, the council is involved in improving the participation of all Canadians in physical fitness and amateur sport as well as supporting Canadian athletes. It reports to Parliament through the minister of health and welfare.

National Arts Centre Corp. The act establishing the corporation (RSC 1970, c.N-2) received assent in July 1966. The corporation consists of a board of trustees composed of a chairman, a vice-chairman, the mayors of Ottawa and Hull, the director of the Canada Council, the president of the Canadian Broadcasting Corp., the government film commissioner and nine other members appointed by the Governor-in-Council for terms not exceeding three years, except for the first appointees whose terms ranged from two to four years. The objects of the corporation are to operate and maintain the National Arts Centre, to develop the performing arts in the capital region and to assist the Canada. The corporation reports to Parliament through the minister of communications.

National Battlefields Commission. This commission was established by an act of Parliament in 1908 (SC 1908, cc.57-58, as amended) to acquire, restore and maintain the historic battlefields at Québec City to form a National Battlefields Park. Composed of nine members, seven appointed by the federal government and one each by Ontario and Quebec, the commission is supported by the federal government through annual appropriations and is responsible to Parliament through the minister of the environment.

National Capital Commission. This commission is a Crown agency created by the National Capital Act (RSC 1970, c.N-3) to plan for and assist in the development, conservation and improvement of the national capital region. It is composed of 20 members (including the chairman) chosen from across the nation, to ensure that there will be input into its policies and activities from all regions of the country.

The commission is responsible for acquisition, development and maintenance of federal public lands in the capital region; it co-operates with municipalities in developing projects of both national and local interest and it advises the government on the siting and appearance of all federal government buildings in the 2 880 square kilometre area centred on Parliament Hill in Ottawa. The commission reports to Parliament through the minister of public works.

National Council of Welfare (Department of National Health and Welfare). The council is an advisory body of 21 private citizens, drawn from across Canada and appointed by the Governor-in-Council. Its members include past and present welfare recipients, public housing tenants and other low-income citizens, as well as lawyers, professors, social workers and others involved in voluntary service associations, private welfare agencies and social work education. The council advises the minister of national health and welfare on matters related to welfare. The office of the council carries out research and other support activities for the council.

National Defence, Department of. The department and the Canadian forces operate under the authority of the National Defence Act (RSC 1970, c.N-4). The minister of national defence is responsible for the control and